Guide

What a private pilot license costs, school by school.

Computed from the hourly rates 15 schools post on their own sites. The arithmetic is shown for every school.

The short answer

For the airplane and instructor alone, 65 hours of training at the schools that post both rates comes to $12,025 to $30,925 (median $13,975, 15 schools). At the FAA minimum of 40 hours it is $7,350 to $18,850. Most students take more than the minimum. [source] [source] [source]

How it is computed

Computed These are not quotes. For each school that posts both an hourly rate for a Cessna 172 or Piper PA-28 trainer and a flight instructor rate:

  • Aircraft: hours flown × the school’s lowest posted 172 or PA-28 rate (not block or prepaid rates).
  • Instructor: hours flown with an instructor × the school’s lowest posted flight instructor rate.
  • FAA minimum scenario: 40 aircraft hours, the Part 61 minimum, which must include at least 20 hours with an instructor and 10 solo. [source] We bill 30 with an instructor and 10 solo.
  • Typical scenario: 65 aircraft hours, 50 with an instructor and 15 solo. 65 sits inside the national averages three listed schools state (50 to 60, about 65, about 70).
  • Not included: one-on-one ground instruction, ground school or books, the FAA medical exam, the FAA knowledge test, the examiner’s fee for the checkride, a headset, renter’s insurance, and any school fees or fuel surcharges. Ask each school for these.

Where a school doesn’t say whether its rate includes fuel, the table says so; a dry rate makes the total look lower than it is.

By school

SchoolRates used40 hr (FAA min.)65 hr (typical)School’s own figure
AZ Flight Training
Phoenix
$135/hr (wet/dry not stated) + $65/hr instructor$7,350$12,025$8,900
Dallas Flight Center
Dallas
$155/hr (wet/dry not stated) + $50/hr instructor$7,700$12,575$10,000 to $15,000
Fly Glendale
Phoenix
$145/hr wet + $65/hr instructor$7,750$12,675$11,500
Fort Worth Flight School
Dallas
$155/hr (wet/dry not stated) + $55/hr instructor$7,850$12,825$11,000 to $20,000
All2Fly Aviation Academy
Atlanta
$155/hr wet + $60/hr instructor$8,000$13,075$11,000 to $13,000
Yellow Jacket Flying Club
Atlanta
$155/hr wet + $68/hr instructor$8,240$13,475Not posted
Angel Aviation
Phoenix
$160/hr wet + $70/hr instructor$8,500$13,900Not posted
Mesquite Aviation
Dallas
$165/hr (wet/dry not stated) + $65/hr instructor$8,550$13,975Not posted
Colorado's BEST Flight School
Denver
$170/hr (wet/dry not stated) + $65/hr instructor$8,750$14,300$18,000
FLY Goodyear
Phoenix
$165/hr wet + $78/hr instructor$8,940$14,625$12,000 to $13,000
Grayhawk Flight Training LLC
Dallas
$180/hr wet + $75/hr instructor$9,450$15,450$14,250
Nationwide Aviation
Dallas
$185/hr wet + $70/hr instructor$9,500$15,525$15,800
Simply Aviation
Denver
$230/hr wet + $70/hr instructor$11,300$18,450Not posted
Centennial Aviation Academy
Atlanta
$239/hr wet + $99/hr instructor$12,530$20,485Not posted
American Air Flight Training
Atlanta
$295/hr wet + $235/hr instructor$18,850$30,925Not posted

What schools say it costs

18 schools post their own private pilot figure. They mean different things: an average, an itemized minimum, or a course fee.

Why hours matter most

The FAA sets minimums, not averages: 40 hours of flight time under Part 61 [source] and 35 hours of flight training in an approved Part 141 course. [source] Every extra hour costs the aircraft rate plus, when flown with an instructor, the instructor rate. At the median posted rates on this site ($164.5 aircraft, $70 instructor), one more hour with an instructor costs about $234.5.

Questions people ask

How much does a private pilot license cost?

Computed from 15 schools’ posted aircraft and instructor rates, 65 hours of training comes to $12,025 to $30,925 (median $13,975) for the airplane and instructor alone. At the FAA minimum of 40 hours it is $7,350 to $18,850. Ground school, exams, the medical and the examiner fee are extra.

How many hours does a private pilot license take?

The FAA minimum is 40 hours of flight time under Part 61 (14 CFR 61.109) and 35 hours of flight training in a Part 141 course. Three schools on this site state national averages of 50 to 60, about 65, and about 70 hours.

Why do schools quote such different totals?

Some quote the FAA minimum, some an average, and some a package. Aircraft rates also differ by airplane and by whether fuel is included (wet) or extra (dry).